January 29, 2017: Mt. Rowe

Today’s hike was a fast (for me) five miles on Mt. Rowe. It was sunny and in the mid-30’s, and not too windy – great weather conditions for a hike. And thanks to the sleet/ice storm we had on Tuesday, the trails were covered with a hard, frozen crust, making for easy travel in microspikes.

There were a few cars in the parking lot when I arrived, but I only saw two people coming down when I was on my way up the blue trail. Along the Ridge trail at the summit, I crossed paths with a group of about five or six people and a dog. And coming down the purple trail, I met up with a friendly dog (goldendoodle, maybe?) and his human. The dog passed me and trotted ahead on the trail, while the man with him followed behind.

Today’s hike amounted to 5.05 miles in 2 hours, 22 minutes – just a little more than a 28-minute-mile pace. This includes leaving the fitness app running while I wandered around the summit taking pictures, and sitting down for some snacks. I actually busted out into a bit of trail running a few times on the way up and again on the way down.

img_6296

Leave a Reply

